ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022|India To Open Campaign Against Pakistan At MCG On October 23


The event will see participation from 16 teams with a total of 45 matches to be played. Australia are hosting the men’s edition for the first time in their history. They had previously played host to the women’s event in February-March 2020 with the final match attended by a record 86,174 spectators.

The matches will be played across Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney. India have been placed in Group 2 along with Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Group A runner-up and Group B winner.

India’s matches at the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 
➠ 23rd October : vs Pakistan, Melbourne Cricket Ground
➠ 27th October : vs Group A Runner Up, Sydney Cricket Ground
➠ 30th October : vs South Africa, Perth Stadium
➠ 2nd November : vs Bangladesh, Adelaide Oval
➠ 6th November : vs Group B Winner, Melbourne Cricket Ground

12 Teams in Super-12

➠ Along with India and Pakistan, 12 teams will play in the Direct Super-12, while 4 teams will be decided in the qualifiers in February and July.
➠ Apart from India and Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England and South Africa are in the Super-12. Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and the West Indies, on the other hand, will play qualifiers before the main draw. The other 4 teams will also advance to the Qualifiers.

The World Cup will start on October 16
➠ The ICC has announced the schedule for the T-20 World Cup 2022 on Friday. According to the schedule, India will play its first match against Pakistan on October 23 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The T-20 World Cup kicks off on October 16. The final will be played on November 13 in Melbourne. A total of 45 matches will be played in 7 different cities – Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney. The opening match of the tournament will be played between Sri Lanka and Namibia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *